什么是外汇?谁是主要的参与者?

外汇(外汇市场或货币市场)是一个年轻且不断发展中货币兑换市场,其日成交量超过了世界上所有金融市场的总和。根据国际清算银行的统计,外汇市场的日成交量在2010年达到了4万亿美元的水平,与此相比,美国股票交易的日成交量“仅仅”为300万美元。

外汇市场上的所有操作可以分为几类:投机、套期保值、交易和调节。

外汇的历史:全世界最大的金融市场是如何形成的?

货币兑换市场始于1971年,即金本位退出历史舞台的时候。第37任美国总统尼克松是这一事件发起者。由于金本位的取消,稳定的货币汇率系统也不复存在。根据1971年12月签发的《史密森协议》,允许出现在4.5%以内的(对美元)持续的货币波动(不包含美元的货币对为9%)。直到1976年1月8日,才在(牙买加)金斯敦制定了一个全新的货币体系原则。国际货币基金组织(IMF)的所有与会成员均拒绝对黄金指定官方价格和对货币汇率变化设定限制。自这一决定以后,货币市场就开始了蓬勃的发展。

外汇市场上的所有操作可以分为几类:投机、套期保值、交易和调节。
不同于股票,外汇是一种场外交易(OTC)市场,没有一个固定的交易场所和设定的工作时间。这是由于所有交易的主要交易量均产生世界各大主要银行之间。由于各银行分别位于全世界不同的地方,交易在每天的24小时内(银行休息日除外)均可进行。

外汇参与者——谁主导着市场?

因此,外汇市场的主要参与者是世界各大银行(商业银行和中央银行)。但是,从事对外经济活动的大型企业、投资基金和对冲基金、经纪商、交易中心以及个人也都参与到外汇交易的过程中。

Forex major participants

商业银行

商业银行带来主要的交易量。他们利用来自个人和法人实体的存款,并根据他们的目标进行操作,为其资金所有人带来相应的回报。

中央银行

中央银行的主要目的是为本国政府及商业银行提供金融服务。其主要职能是:
  • 货币供应和汇率调控;
  • 本国货币票据发行控制;
  • 向商业银行贷款和接受其存款,以及控制他们的活动;
  • 管理一个国家的债务;
  • 维护国家的黄金外汇储备;
  • 与其他中央银行互动。

您可以从这篇文章中了解更多关于中央银行及其职能的信息。

外汇市场每天都吸引着更多的人参与其中,因为不少人都希望能从汇率的波动中获利。

大型企业

从事对外经济活动的大型企业使用外汇来将本国货币兑换成外币,并进行远期、短期存款以及为未来的交易套期保值。这些公司会使用商业银行的服务,因为他们无法没有直接进入外汇交易市场。

投资和套保基金

从事国外资产投资并用投资者资金买入不同证券的公司。

外汇公司(经纪商和交易中心)

他们把买家和卖家联系在一起进行兑换交易的代理商。他们通过增加点差或对每一手交易收取佣金来获利。

个人

个人是指那些参与非商业性货币兑换操作的人士,例如出国旅游时的转账和货币兑换等。直到1986年,个人才有机会在外汇市场上进行投机性投资。个人可以通过外汇公司进行投机操作。

外汇市场每天都吸引着更多的人参与其中,因为不少人都希望能从汇率的波动中获利。但是,在入市之前,您必须先学习能为您的工作带来帮助的基础知识。

我们希望本文能够帮助您了解外汇市场的基本情况。现在,您可以阅读其他外汇文章、常见问题解答,以加深您对外汇市场的理解。

JustForex2016-10-23

What is Forex? Major participants

Forex (foreign exchange market or currency market) – is a young and developing market of currency exchange, whose daily turnover exceeds all the financial markets of the world (according to the Bank for International Settlements, daily turnover reached the level of 4 trillion USD in 2010, compared with the daily turnover of American stock exchanges, which is "only" 300 billion USD).

All the operations carried out on the Forex market can be divided in several groups: speculative, hedging, trading and regulating.

History of Forex: How Did the Biggest Worldwide Financial Market Appear?

The market of currency exchange started its history in 1971, from the moment of gold standard cancellation. The 37th president of America, Richard Nixon, was the initiator. Because of the cancellation of gold standard, the system of stable currency rates was destroyed. As a result of the Smithsonian agreement in December 1971, constant currency fluctuations within 4.5% (against USD) were permitted (within 9% for currency pairs that do not contain USD). The decision on principles of a new currency system was made in Kingston (Jamaica) only on January 8, 1976. All the participants-members of IMF refused to set the official price for gold and limits on changes in the currency rates. The development of the currency market starts from this decision.

All the operations carried out on the Forex market can be divided in several groups: speculative, hedging, trading and regulating.
Unlike stocks, Forex is an over-the-counter (OTC) market, that does not have one certain place for trading and set working hours. That is because the main volume of all the transactions occurs between major world banks. As all the banks are situated in different places all around the planet, transactions are carried out 24 hours a day (except during bank holidays).

Forex participants – who rules the market?

So, major participants of the Forex market are banks of the world (commercial and central ones). However, large corporations, that are engaged in foreign economic activity, investment and hedge funds, brokerage firms, dealing centers and individuals participate in this process as well.

Commercial Banks

Commercial banks carry the main volume of trading. They are involved in taking deposits from individuals and legal entities and operating according to their goals with subsequent return of money to the owners.

Central Banks
The main aim of central banks is to provide financial services to the government and commercial banks of their countries. Their main functions are:
  • money supply and exchange rate regulation;
  • control of the release of national currency's notes;
  • lending and accepting deposits from commercial banks, as well as control of their activity;
  • management of country's debt;
  • maintenance of the gold currency reserves of the country;
  • interaction with other central banks.

You can learn more information about central banks and their functions from this article.

Forex attracts more people day after day because of the fact that many people want to benefit from rate fluctuations.

Large Corporations

Large corporations, engaged in foreign economic activity, use Forex to exchange national currency into foreign currency and to forward, conduct short-term deposits, and hedge their future deals. These companies use the services of commercial banks because they do not have direct access to the currency exchange market.

Investment and Hedge Funds

Companies that carry foreign assets invest and place the investor's funds into different securities as well.

Forex Companies (Brokers and Dealing Centers)

They are agents, that bring buyers and sellers together to carry out conversion transactions. They charge for their work either by adding a spread or taking commission fee for a lot traded.

Individuals

Individuals are those who are involved in non-commercial operations of currency exchange, for example, money transfers, currency exchange while visiting foreign countries, etc. Individuals got the chance to use Forex in speculative purposes only in 1986. Individuals may conduct speculative operations via Forex companies.

Forex attracts more people day after day because of the fact that many people want to benefit from rate fluctuations. However, before you start working, you must receive basic knowledge that will help you in this work.

We hope that this article has helped you get a general idea of the Forex market. Now, you can read other Forex articles, FAQ or visit Knowledgebase to deepen your understanding of the foreign exchange market.