C’est quoi, les CFD : caractéristiques et avantages

Le marché Forex met à votre disposition une large gamme de moyens de faire du profit – parmi ceux-ci mentionnons le trading des paires de devises, des indices, des métaux précieux. Les contrats pour différence (CFD) représente l’un des plus connus instruments de trading.

Le sigle « CFD » provient du syntagme anglais « contract for difference » (« contrat pour différence ») ; les CFD reposent sur un actif sous-jacent. Cela pourrait être des actions, des indices boursiers aussi que d’autres produits. En tradant des CFD, le trader gagne profitant des fluctuations des prix, spéculant donc leur hausse ou leur baisse.

Le trading de CFD a à la base le principe suivant : on choisit un actif et on prévoit la direction ascendante ou descendante de son prix. Si la prévision du trader s’avère correcte, il en aura du profit. Par exemple, vous estimez que l’indice boursier américain Wall Street 30 (US30) va augmenter et vous concluez un contrat CFD pour la hausse de son prix. Si la transaction est fermée à votre profit, l’indice a vraiment augmenté, le courtier paie la différence entre le prix actuel et le prix d’ouverture.

L’une des caractéristiques des CFD consiste dans le fait qu’on ne trade pas l’actif lui-même, mais son prix seul. Cela veut dire que le trader gagne en profitant du prix de l’actif sous-jacent sans posséder l’actif proprement-dit.

Un contrat pour différence est un instrument financier dérivé reposant sur la modification du prix de l’actif sous-jacent. Il n’offre pas quand même des droits de propriété sur l’actif en question.

Un peu d’histoire. Les contrats pour différence ont fait leur apparition dans l’Angleterre vers le début des années 90 pour éviter le paiement du droit de timbre. Comme cette méthode de conclure des transactions ne présupposait pas de posséder des actions, les CFD n’étaient pas visés par cette taxe. Les fonds spéculatifs ont été les premiers à utiliser cet instrument et peu après il devint disponible au commerce de détail. A cette époque-là, le trading ne présupposait que l’achat et la vente de la différence exprimée dans des valeurs d’action. De nos jours, les courtiers offrent des CFD sur la plupart des produits.

Pourquoi trader des CFD est si profitable

Le trading des CFD est devenu très répandu. En voilà les avantages :
  • On peut trader un actif sans le posséder et faire du profit à la base de son différence de prix seulement.
  • Le CFD est un instrument avantageux non seulement pour les investissements à long terme, mais à court terme aussi.
  • On peut faire du profit sur des produits des plus divers : actions, métaux précieux, indices boursiers.
  • La durée d’une transaction est illimitée, le contrat pouvant être clôturé à tout moment.
  • Comme les CFD peuvent être utilisés aussi pour des investissements à long terme qu’à court terme, ils peuvent être utilisés à des fins de couverture.
  • Les CFD sont tradés à des coûts modiques, tout comme les devises sur le marché Forex. Pour commencer à trader, il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir un capital initial important.

par Justforex, 10/07/2019

What are CFDs: Features and Benefits

Forex provides a large number of money-making ways of earning, including trading in currency pairs, indices, precious metals. CFDs are one of the most popular instruments.

CFD stands for contract for difference and is based on the underlying asset. These can be stocks, indices, as well as other commodities. When trading CFDs, a trader earns on price fluctuations, speculating on its rise or fall.

CFD trading works according to the following principle: you choose an asset and forecast in which direction the price will move. If your forecast turns out to be accurate, you will receive a profit. For example, you believe that the US Wall Street Index 30 Index (US30) will grow and enter the CFD contract for the price increase. If the transaction is closed in your favour, the index has risen, the broker pays the difference between the current price and the opening price.

A feature of CFD is that you do not trade the asset itself, but only its price. That is, the trader makes money on the price of the underlying asset, not having the asset itself.

A contract for difference is a derivative financial instrument that is based on the price change of the underlying asset. At the same time, it does not grant any rights to the ownership of this asset.

Historical notes. Contracts for difference appeared in England in the early 90s to avoid paying stamp duty. Since this way of making deals does not imply owning shares, CFDs were not subject to this tax. Hedge funds were the first who started using this instrument, and a little later it became available for retail traders. Back then, the trading involved only the purchase and sale of the difference in the stock values. Today, brokers offer CFD on almost all commodities.

Why is it profitable to trade CFD

Trading CFDs is very popular. Among the advantages are:
  • You can trade an asset without actually having it, and making a profit only on the price difference.
  • CFD is a useful instrument not only for the long-term but also for short-term investments.
  • You can earn on various assets: stocks, precious metals, indices.
  • The term of the transaction is unlimited, the contract can be closed at any time.
  • Since you can go either long or short, contracts for difference can be used for hedging.
  • CFDs are traded on a marginal basis as well as currencies on Forex. To start trading, it is not necessary to have a big initial capital.

by Justforex, 2019.07.10

Last Articles
All Articles
10 most stable forex pairs to trade in 2021
If you are interested in forex but have never tried trading before, sooner or later, you come across the question of what currency pair is safe to trade so that you don’t lose half of your deposit on your first position. And the answer is as simple as can be, the safest currency pairs are the most stable ones. Read on to learn which currency pairs are the best to start your trading journey.
Read more
Best Gold Trading Tips For Beginners
Gold is one of the most popular assets traded worldwide by investors, funds, and speculators who aim to profit from the price fluctuations or stand up against inflation. Unfortunately, many market participants fail to catch the wave and take full advantage of what the gold market can offer due to the lack of knowledge and experience. Are you planning to become the next gold trader? Learn how to trade gold in the most profitable way.
Read more
How to Become a Successful Forex Trader in Malaysia
With broad access to online brokerage services, everyone can become a trader these days. However, few people actually find success in FX. The reason might be that many of those who try trading skip some essential steps or simply do things wrong. Learn about the best ways to become a currency trader in Malaysia from this article.
Read more