Données PMI manufacturières et des services. Qu'est-ce qu'un trader doit savoir ?

Manufacturing and Services PMI data. What does a trader need to know?

L'indice des directeurs d'achat, ou PMI, fournit des informations sur les conditions commerciales actuelles et futures. Il s'agit d'un indicateur économique calculé à partir d'enquêtes mensuelles auprès de diverses entreprises. Il aide à déterminer si les conditions du marché se développent, se contractent ou restent les mêmes du point de vue des responsables des achats.

Le PMI est obtenue en envoyant des questions factuelles à un grand nombre d'entreprises du secteur concerné. Les questions sont factuelles et portent sur 5 variables clés : nouvelles commandes (30 %), production (25 %), emploi (20 %), délais de livraison des fournisseurs (15 %) et stocks achetés (10 %).

Le PMI indique la direction dans laquelle l'économie se dirige et aide les économistes à prévoir l'activité manufacturière dans le pays. Le PMI est généralement publiée avant d'autres données, telles que le GDP et la production industrielle. En règle générale, l'indice est publié une fois par mois et montre les tendances dans les secteurs de la fabrication et des services.

Comment lire les données PMI manufacturier et services ?

Les données PMI doivent être évaluées à trois niveaux :

  • Estimez la valeur concernant le niveau 50 ;
  • La dynamique de l'activité commerciale de mois en mois ;
  • Comparez la valeur réelle avec celle prévue.

Si la dynamique PMI augmente de mois en mois et que la valeur est supérieure à 50, cela signifie une expansion de l'activité commerciale dans le secteur. Cela se produit généralement pendant les périodes de croissance économique. Si la dynamique d'un mois à l'autre est en baisse, mais que la valeur est supérieure à 50, cela indique que le niveau d'activité des entreprises dans le secteur est en baisse, mais que la situation est sous contrôle.

Si le PMI baisse de mois en mois et que la valeur est inférieure à 50, cela indique une contraction de l'activité commerciale dans le secteur. Cela se produit généralement pendant les périodes de récession. Si la dynamique d'un mois à l'autre augmente, mais que la valeur est inférieure à 50, cela indique que le niveau d'activité commerciale est encore faible, mais qu'il y a des signes de reprise.

Si la valeur réelle est meilleure que la prévision, c'est positif pour le marché. Si la valeur réelle est inférieure aux prévisions, elle peut être considérée par le marché comme négative.

Prenons un exemple concret. La semaine dernière, jeudi (23 juin), les principaux pays européens (France, Espagne, Italie et Allemagne) ont publié des données PMI pour les secteurs manufacturiers et des services. Dans presque tous les pays, les données étaient inférieures à celles du mois dernier et pires que les prévisions des analystes. En conséquence, la devise européenne a fortement chuté et a clôturé la journée avec une bougie rouge. Mais les valeurs sont toujours au-dessus des niveaux de 50, ce qui indique que même si les choses empirent, le niveau d'activité commerciale est toujours élevé. Il s'agit d'un paramètre à plus moyen terme. En règle générale, lorsque le niveau d'activité des entreprises tombe en dessous de 50, les banques centrales commencent à assouplir la politique monétaire pour empêcher l'économie d'entrer en récession.

Commencer Le Trading

par Justforex, 18/07/2022

Manufacturing and Services PMI data. What does a trader need to know?

Manufacturing and Services PMI data. What does a trader need to know?

The Purchasing Managers' Index, or PMI, provides information on current and future business conditions. It is an economic indicator calculated based on monthly surveys of various companies. It helps determine whether market conditions are expanding, contracting, or remaining the same from the purchasing managers' perspective.

The PMI is obtained by sending fact-based questions to a large number of companies in the relevant sector. The questions are fact-based and relate to 5 key variables: new orders (30%), production (25%), employment (20%), supplier delivery times (15%), and inventory purchased (10%).

The PMI indicates the direction in which the economy is heading and helps economists forecast manufacturing activity in the country. The PMI is usually published before other data, such as GDP and Industrial Production. As a rule, the Index is published once a month and shows trends in both the manufacturing and service sectors.

How to read the Manufacturing and Services PMI data?

The PMI data should be evaluated on three levels:

  • Estimate the value concerning level 50;
  • The dynamics of business activity from month to month;
  • Compare the actual value with the forecasted one.

If the PMI dynamic is increasing from month to month and the value is above 50, it means an expansion of business activity in the sector. This usually happens during periods of economic growth. If the month-to-month dynamics are falling, but the value is above 50, it indicates that the level of business activity in the sector is declining, but the situation is under control.

If PMI is falling from month to month and the value is below 50, it indicates a contraction of business activity in the sector. This usually happens during recessionary periods. If month-to-month dynamics are rising, but the value is below 50, it indicates that the level of business activity is still weak, but there are signs of recovery.

If the actual value is better than the forecast, it is positive for the market. If the actual value is worse than the forecast, it can be considered by the market as negative.

Let's look at a concrete example. Last week on Thursday (June 23), the leading European countries (France, Spain, Italy, and Germany) released PMI data for the manufacturing and service sectors. In almost all countries, the data were lower than the last month's and worse than analysts' forecasts. As a result, the European currency fell sharply and closed the day with a red candle. But the values are still above the 50 levels, indicating that even though things are getting worse, the level of business activity is still high. This is a more medium-term parameter. Typically, when the level of business activity falls below 50, central banks begin to ease monetary policy to keep the economy from recession.

Start trading

by Justforex, 2022.07.18

Last Articles
All Articles
Best Forex Pairs for Scalping
"Sounds scary!" — someone may say about the word "scalping." But nothing to worry about. It is a trading strategy, and we'll tell you about it in this article!
Read more
Best Currency Pairs to Trade at Night
The Forex market works 24/5. If it never sleeps, does it have any special features during the nighttime? Yes. In this article, we explain trading nightlife and show the best currency pairs for this time. You will learn what subtleties exist in night trading and what you need to be prepared for.
Read more
The Best Forex Pairs To Trade In Malaysia
The increasing market volatility every day due to instability in the economic and political spheres is an alarming sign for many entrepreneurs. However, for a trader, price fluctuations mean a constant opportunity to earn money. Now is the best time to trade Forex in Malaysia, so find out what to look for when starting your investment career and how to choose the best trading symbols!
Read more