Données du PIB. Qu'est-ce qu'un trader doit savoir ?

Données du PIB. Qu'est-ce qu'un trader doit savoir?

Le produit intérieur brut (PIB) est la valeur monétaire ou marchande totale de tous les biens et services finis produits dans un pays au cours d'une période donnée. En tant que mesure générale de la production nationale totale, il s'agit d'un tableau de bord complet de la santé économique d'un pays.

Le PIB est un outil clé qui guide les décideurs politiques, les investisseurs et les entreprises lors de la prise de décisions stratégiques. Le calcul du PIB d'un pays englobe l'ensemble de la consommation privée et publique, ainsi que les dépenses publiques, les investissements, les ajouts aux stocks privés, les coûts de construction payés et la balance commerciale extérieure (les exportations sont ajoutées à la valeur et les importations sont soustraites). Les données sur le PIB sont généralement publiées en termes de pourcentage par le Département des statistiques nationales du pays. La plupart des pays publient des données sur le PIB chaque mois et chaque trimestre.

Le PIB peut être calculé sur une base nominale ou réelle, cette dernière tenant compte de l'inflation. Mais le plus souvent, le PIB réel est utilisé car c'est la meilleure méthode pour exprimer la performance économique à long terme d'un pays. Les instituts gouvernementaux, tels que la Réserve fédérale américaine, utilisent les taux de croissance et d'autres statistiques du PIB dans leur processus décisionnel pour déterminer le type de politique monétaire.

Quand le PIB d'un pays augmente-t-il et quand diminue-t-il ?

Parmi toutes les composantes qui composent le PIB d'un pays, il est crucial de garder un œil sur la balance du commerce extérieur. Si la valeur totale des biens et services que les producteurs nationaux vendent aux pays étrangers dépasse la valeur totale des biens et services étrangers que les consommateurs nationaux achètent, alors il y a un excédent commercial. Dans une telle situation, le PIB du pays a tendance à croître.

Si la situation inverse se produit - si le montant que les consommateurs nationaux dépensent pour des produits étrangers dépasse le montant total que les producteurs nationaux peuvent vendre aux consommateurs étrangers - cela s'appelle un déficit commercial. Dans une telle situation, le PIB du pays a tendance à baisser.

Comment lire les données du PIB ?

Les données du PIB doivent être évaluées à deux niveaux. La première consiste à estimer la dynamique du PIB de mois en mois, de trimestre en trimestre. La seconde consiste à comparer la valeur réelle avec celle prévue.

En général, si le taux de croissance ralentit, les banques centrales nationales des pays peuvent recourir à une politique monétaire souple pour stimuler l'économie. Si le taux de croissance augmente, la banque centrale peut utiliser une politique monétaire agressive pour empêcher l'inflation (ce qui se passe actuellement dans la plupart des pays).

Si la valeur réelle est meilleure que prévu, elle est généralement positive pour le marché boursier et la devise du pays. À l'inverse, si la valeur réelle est moins bonne que prévu, elle est négative.

Prenons un exemple concret. Le rapport mensuel sur le PIB a été publié en Grande-Bretagne mardi 13 juillet. Les données ont montré que l'économie britannique a augmenté de 0,5 % le mois dernier. La prévision des analystes était une baisse de 0,2 %. Premièrement, la croissance de l'économie de 0,5 % a chevauché la baisse des trois mois précédents. Deuxièmement - les données réelles étaient meilleures que prévu. En conséquence, les cotations GBP/USD ont réagi avec une croissance au moment de la publication des nouvelles. Bien sûr, les nouvelles sont souvent manipulées, mais les données économiques réelles montreront toujours la direction réelle des instruments financiers à moyen terme.

Commencer Le Trading

par Justforex, 27/07/2022

GDP data. What does a trader need to know?

GDP data. What does a trader need to know?

Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is the total monetary or market value of all finished goods and services produced within a country in a given period. As a broad measure of total domestic production, it is a comprehensive scorecard of a country's economic health.

GDP is a key tool that guides policymakers, investors, and businesses when making strategic decisions. The calculation of a country's GDP encompasses all private and public consumption, and government outlays, investments, additions to private inventories, paid-in construction costs, and the foreign balance of trade (exports are added to the value and imports are subtracted). GDP data is usually published in percentage terms by the country's Department of National Statistics. Most countries publish GDP data every month and quarter.

GDP can be calculated on a nominal or real basis, with the latter taking inflation into account. But more often, real GDP is used because it is the best method for expressing a country's long-term economic performance. Government institutes, such as the US Federal Reserve, use growth rates and other GDP statistics in their decision-making process when determining the type of monetary policy.

When does a country's GDP rise, and when does it fall?

Among all the components that make up a country's GDP, it is crucial to keep an eye on the foreign trade balance. If the total value of goods and services that domestic producers sell to foreign countries exceeds the total value of foreign goods and services that domestic consumers buy, then there is a trade surplus. In such a situation, the country's GDP tends to grow.

If the opposite situation occurs - if the amount that domestic consumers spend on foreign products exceeds the total amount that domestic producers can sell to foreign consumers - this is called a trade deficit. In such a situation, the country's GDP tends to decline.

How to read the GDP data?

The GDP data should be evaluated on two levels. The first is to estimate the dynamics of GDP from month to month, quarter to quarter. The second is to compare the actual value with the forecasted one.

In general, if the growth rate is slowing, countries' national central banks can use soft monetary policy to stimulate the economy. If the growth rate rises, the central bank can use aggressive monetary policy to prevent inflation (what is happening now in most countries).

If the actual value is better than expected, it is usually positive for the country's stock market and currency. Conversely, if the actual value is worse than expected, it is negative.

Let's look at a concrete example. The month's GDP report was released in Great Britain on Tuesday (July 13). The data showed that the UK economy grew by 0.5% last month. Analysts' forecast was a decline of 0.2%. First, the economy's growth by 0.5% overlapped the decline over the previous three months. Second - the actual data was better than expected. As a result, GBP/USD quotes reacted with growth at the moment of news publication. Of course, the news is often manipulated, but the real economic data will always show the actual direction of financial instruments in the medium term.

Start trading

by Justforex, 2022.07.27

Last Articles
All Articles
Best Forex Pairs for Scalping
"Sounds scary!" — someone may say about the word "scalping." But nothing to worry about. It is a trading strategy, and we'll tell you about it in this article!
Read more
Best Currency Pairs to Trade at Night
The Forex market works 24/5. If it never sleeps, does it have any special features during the nighttime? Yes. In this article, we explain trading nightlife and show the best currency pairs for this time. You will learn what subtleties exist in night trading and what you need to be prepared for.
Read more
The Best Forex Pairs To Trade In Malaysia
The increasing market volatility every day due to instability in the economic and political spheres is an alarming sign for many entrepreneurs. However, for a trader, price fluctuations mean a constant opportunity to earn money. Now is the best time to trade Forex in Malaysia, so find out what to look for when starting your investment career and how to choose the best trading symbols!
Read more