Les banques centrales

Une banque centrale est une banque qui fournit des services financiers au gouvernement et aux banques commerciales de son pays.

Les principales fonctions de la Banque centrale sont :
  • la masse monétaire et la régulation du taux de change ;
  • le contrôle des déversements de billets de la monnaie nationale ;
  • le prêts et l’acceptation de dépôts des banques commerciales, ainsi que le contrôle de leur activité ;
  • la gestion de la dette du pays ;
  • l’entretien des réserves d'or-monnaie du pays ;
  • l’interaction avec d'autres banques centrales.
Les banques centrales influencent le marché des échanges étrangers de quatre manières :
  • Le changement de taux d'intérêt. Les banques centrales augmentent les taux d'intérêt de manière à rendre la monnaie de leur pays plus attrayante pour les investisseurs, mais c’est ce qui complique la vie des banques commerciales. Pour les investisseurs, les économies réalisées dans la monnaie du pays apporteront plus de revenus, mais pour les banques commerciales, elles causeront plus de perte lors de prêt de l'argent fait auprès des banques centrales, ce qui conduira automatiquement à une augmentation des taux d'intérêt sur les Fonds de prêt et de dépôt pour le peuple. En abaissant des taux d'intérêt, le processus s’inverse.
  • Les instruments du marché financier. Ce sont habituellement les opérations directes sur titres sur le marché libre. L’achat de titres par la Banque centrale mène à l'augmentation de ses réserves, ce qui rend possible d'augmenter le volume de prêts aux entreprises dans divers secteurs de l'économie, ou des prêts aux banques commerciales qui prêtent de l'argent à ces organisations à son tour (en fonction de la structure de l'interaction dans un pays donné). De cette manière, la banque centrale stimule le développement de l'économie. En vendant des titres, les réserves de la Banque diminuent, ainsi que la possibilité de crédit, ce qui provoque un effet modérateur sur l'économie.
  • Changement des exigences sur les réserves. En changeant ces conditions, la banque centrale peut limiter le volume des crédits, émis par les banques commerciales, ce qui entraînera la modification du montant d'argent dans le pays.
  • Les opérations de change. Les banques centrales peuvent fonctionner sur le marché des changes afin de marchander/renforcer la monnaie nationale (intervention) ou vice versa, la maintenir au même niveau. Cela se fait par injection ou en dispensant la monnaie nationale dans ou sur le marché international. En outre, les banques centrales peuvent placer leurs avoirs dans d'autres banques centrales et changer de devises directement.
central-bank-influence

Les banques centrales comme: Federal Reserve System (USA), European Central Bank (Europe), Bank of England (Grande-Bretagne), Bank of Japan (Japon), Swiss National Bank (Suisse), Bank of Canada (Canada), Reserve Bank of Australia (Australie) et la Reserve Bank of New Zealand (Nouvelle-Zélande) sont les plus grandes et les plus puissantes des banques dans le monde, qui ont un impact important sur le Forex.

Federal Reserve System USA (FRS ou FED)

The European Central Bank (ECB)

Bank of England (BOE)

Bank of Japan (BOJ)

The Swiss National Bank (SNB)

Bank of Canada (BOC)

Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA)

Reserve Bank of New Zealand (RBNZ)

Central Banks

The central bank is a bank that provides financial services to the government and the commercial banks of its country.

The main functions of the central bank are:
  • money supply and exchange rate regulation;
  • control of the release of national currency's notes;
  • lending and accepting deposits from commercial banks, as well as control of their activity;
  • management of a country's debt;
  • maintenance of the gold currency reserves of the country;
  • interaction with other central banks.
There are four main ways that central banks influence the foreign exchange market:
  • Interest rate changing. Central banks increase interest rates in such a way that they make the currency of their country attractive to investors, but complicates the life of commercial banks. For investors, savings in the currency of the country will bring more revenue, but for the commercial banks, it will cause a situation wherein lending money from central banks will cost more for them, which will automatically lead to an increase in interest rates for lending and deposit funds for the people. By cutting interest rates, the process is reverse.
  • Financial market instruments. These are usually direct transactions with securities on the open market. Purchase of securities by the central bank leads to the increase of its reserves, which makes it possible to increase the volume of lending to enterprise in the various sectors of the economy, or lending of commercial banks, which lend money to these organizations in turn (depending on the structure of the interaction in one particular country). In such way, the central bank stimulates the development of the economy. By selling securities, the reserves of the bank decrease as well as the possibility of credit from the bank, which causes a dampening effect on the economy.
  • Reserve requirements changing. By changing these conditions, the central bank can limit the volume of credits, issued by the commercial banks, which will cause the change in the amount of money in the country.
  • Foreign exchange operations. Central banks can operate on the foreign exchange market to cheapen/strengthen the national currency (intervention) or vise versa and hold it on the certain level. This is done by infusing or exempting the national currency into or from the international market. In addition, central banks can place their assets in other central banks and directly exchange currency.
Central Bank influence

Central banks, such as the Federal Reserve System (U.S.A.), the European Central Bank (Europe), the Bank of England (Great Britain), the Bank of Japan (Japan), the Swiss National Bank (Switzerland), the Bank of Canada (Canada), the Reserve Bank of Australia (Australia) and the Reserve Bank of New Zealand (New Zealand) are the biggest and most powerful banks in the world, which have their impact on Forex.

The Federal Reserve System U.S.A.

The European Central Bank

The Bank of England

The Bank of Japan

The Swiss National Bank

The Bank of Canada

The Reserve Bank of Australia

The Reserve Bank of New Zealand